Brief History of Ohio

By | May 19, 2022

Population: 11,544.951 thousand people (2011)
Area: 116096.0 sq. km

The Horse Chestnut State is named after the Ohio River, one of the major tributaries of the Mississippi. The river is the state’s natural boundary in the south. To the north is Lake Erie (one of the Great Lakes). The districts near Erie are lowlands, rising to the south to the hills of the low Alegonian plateau.

According to, Ohio is a zone of mixed forests with a temperate continental climate. Winters are mild but snowy, and summers are hot. The northwestern regions, once known as the “Great Black Swamp” are now almost completely drained and used for pastures and fields. Ohio is characterized by numerous rivers, small lakes and artificial reservoirs. In particular, Grand Lake Saint Mary was at one time the largest artificial lake on Earth.

Before European colonization, the Ohio lands were inhabited by Miami, Hurons, Ottawa, and Delawares. In the 17th century, the “Beaver War” swept, as a result of which the Iroquois occupied large areas of the state, crowding out other tribes. After the expedition of R. De la Salle in 1669, the French took possession of the “Ohio country” and included it in their overseas possessions. Ohio attracted the attention of Great Britain, which supported the Indians in the war with France.and seized control of this land (1763). However, already in 1783, the British ceded Ohio to the United States. Ohio became a state in 1803. By the end of the 19th century, the state was among the leaders in steel production and oil production. It was on Ohio black gold that Rockefeller earned his billions. In the Civil War, Ohio supported the North. The state “gave” the country seven presidents, as well as Superman comics. The economic explosion in Ohio occurred during the Second World War, when the steel, chemical and engineering plants of the states were working at full capacity.

Ohio is known among tourists for the unique Serpent Mound (length – 400 meters, height – 1 meter), built about a thousand years ago, Marie Campbell Cave, as well as regional natural parks. In large cities of Ohio (Cleveland, Columbus, Cincinnati) you can visit museums and exhibitions. On Lake Erie, conditions are provided for sailing, rowing, and water parks have been built.


In the northeastern part of Ohio, south of Cleveland, one of the largest cities in the state is located – Akron. It is an industrial and research center known locally as the “Rubber Capital of the World”. One of Akron’s nicknames is the “rubber city”. Akron is also the county seat of Summit County. See Ohio counties.

Akron originated from the construction of the Erie-Ohio Canal in 1825. The construction workers were predominantly from Ireland, who built the first residential buildings in Akron. In 1841, the borough removed Cuyahoga Falls as the county seat. In the second half of the 19th century, representatives of various Christian movements flocked to Akron. At the same time, the history of the development of rubber products begins. Akron held the unofficial title of “rubber capital” of the world until the 1990s: the headquarters of the most famous and largest American companies manufacturing tires, rubber products and other related products are located here. Akron has entered the 21st century as an innovative technology hub.

Akron has more than five dozen architectural landmarks that are listed on the Register of National Historic Places. These are various religious buildings, old mansions, administrative buildings, theaters, libraries, headquarters and workshops of industrial enterprises, an art museum, and skyscrapers. There are also several relatively large sports arenas in Akron. The main attraction – the Cuyahoga Valley National Park – is located north of the city. Every year it is visited by up to 2 million tourists.

Alcoholics Anonymous was founded in Akron in 1935. Also at the local university is the Archive of the History of American Psychology, which contains a book, audio and video fund of the work of more than 700 psychologists.


Population: 156.771 thousand people (2006)
Area: 147.0 sq. km
Founded: 1796
Time zone: UTC-5, summer UTC-4
Altitude: 225 m

Dayton lies in western Ohio, in Montgomery County. Located on the Miami River, it is not only the logistics center of the region, but also one of the leading centers for aerospace and aviation research in the United States. The city even operates the National Museum of the US Air Force on the territory of the Wright-Petterson military base, as well as the Aviation Hall of Fame.

In 1796, 12 men, known as the “Thompson Company”, traveling on pirogues from Cincinnati upstream from Miami, landed on the territory of an Indian settlement and remained there to live. A year later, a permanent river connection with Cincinnati was established, and in 1805 the settlement received the status of a city and became known as Dayton – in honor of the hero of the US War of Independence, Captain Jonathan Dayton.

The city is known to the world as the birthplace of the aviation pioneers, the Wright brothers. They spent their entire lives in Dayton, patenting several inventions, including a self-guided airplane. In general, Dayton has been the all-American leader in innovation and invention since the 1870s. Dayton has held the status of a prominent center of engineering and new industrial technologies for many decades. Many architectural landmarks of the city are associated with this area.

In addition, Dayton has many old mansions, beautiful churches, and modern sports arenas. There is also where to spend cultural leisure: several museums, galleries and theaters. The annual Dayton Air Show is one of the largest in the United States. Another significant holiday in the city is the Celtic Festival, which gathers up to 30 thousand participants.

Brief History of Ohio